Browse by Topic

Transferring Ownership

Whether you're thinking of selling your store, or simply changing permissions within your company, you will want to make sure you've covered your bases when transferring store ownership.

There are three main steps to transferring a store: adding the new user as a store owner, updating the billing details, and updating user permissions to remove the previous owner.

Changing the Owner and Users

When transferring ownership of the store, the new owner will need to have an account created with the Store Owner user role. This will allow them to access the billing area, update permissions, and contact support if needed.

Adding the New Owner

1. Log in to your control panel using the account listed as the store owner.

2. Go to Account SettingsUsers.

3. Click Create a User Account.

Create a User Account button

4. Put in the new owner's email account and assign the User Role Store Owner.

Store Owner user

5. Save your changes. The new owner will receive an email with the subject line "Confirm your BigCommerce Account," which will allow them to activate their new account and set their password. The remaining steps in this article will need to be performed by the new store owner.

Removing the Previous Owner's Account

After the new owner has created their account and password, they will need to take the following steps to remove permissions from the previous owner.

1. Log in to your control panel using the newly created store owner account.

2. Go to Account SettingsUsers.

3. Locate any users no longer associated with the store and delete their accounts.

Check the box next to the user you want to delete then click the delete button

Updating the Billing Details

Once the new owner has access to the control panel, they will need to update their billing details to complete their ownership of the new site. This includes billing contact details and credit card payment details.

The process of updating your billing information differs depending on which billing and accounting system your store is using. Determine which billing system your store is using and choose the corresponding set of instructions below. If you are using the legacy client area, view our instruction at Legacy Client Area

BigCommerce requires a card to be on file at all times for auto-billpay. The new owner must be prepared to replace the card on file with a valid credit card to ensure that the original owner does not continue to pay for the account. BigCommerce considers the cardholder the legal owner of the account.

Updating the Primary and Billing Contact Information

1. While logged into the control panel as the store owner, go to Account SettingsAccount Details.

2. Update the Primary and Billing contacts by clicking Edit to the right of the listing.

  • Primary contact — Receives all account related email notifications
  • Billing contact — Should match the credit card’s billing information, and receives receipts for new account-related orders and other billing related notifications

Update contacts

If the information for the primary and billing contact is the same, only one account needs to be created and set to both the primary and billing contact on the Edit screen.

Updating the Credit Card on File

BigCommerce requires a card to be on file at all times for auto-billpay. The new owner must be prepared to replace the card on file with a valid credit card to ensure that the original owner does not continue to pay for the account. BigCommerce considers the cardholder the legal owner of the account.

1. Click My AccountPayment Details in the upper left corner of the page.

2. Click Update Payment Method in the Payment Information section.

Update payment method

3. Enter the required payment information, then click Save.

The newly updated payment information will be used starting with the next billing cycle.

Was this article helpful?