Previewing a Store Before Launch

All BigCommerce stores are set to private when first created. This keeps search engines from indexing your store while it still in development, and the public from browsing your store before it is ready to launch. You can preview your store or allow others to do so by following the steps below.

Stores that have already launched can be placed in maintenance mode, allowing you to make updates and preview your changes before making them public.


Interested in previewing a theme? If you're interested in previewing a premium theme with your products, check out Previewing and Purchasing Paid Themes.

Previewing for Store Owners and Administrators

If you are logged into your control panel, you can click your store's name in the lower left corner of the control panel.

Previewing your store

Your storefront will load with a maintenance notice displayed in the upper left corner of the page.

The Maintenance Mode dialogue.

Allowing Others to Preview Your Store before Launch

You can provide others access to preview your unlaunched store by providing them with a preview code. Note that you must be logged in as the Store Owner in order to view the preview code.

To locate your preview code, go to the Dashboard and scroll to the Review & test your store section. The preview code will be a string of alphanumeric characters.

Store preview code

When a visitor goes to your homepage they will see a "coming soon" page with a field to enter your store's preview code. Submitting the store's preview code will give your visitor access to view the store.

People who visit your site prior to launch will see a coming soon message.

Was this article helpful?